Lightfantastic

By Lightfantastic

Hello

I thought I would do an early blip. The forecast was not good, rain coming in. I could then concentrate on more sorting. Two weeks to go before kitchen refurbishment. Keep it simple, the blip that is, half an hour later – good that should be ok. On with the sorting out.
Gofer was in the garden moving and sorting plant pots so the builders would be able to get to the window we want taking out.
‘Camera - Come quick!’ he yells. There gliding over the grass was this beautiful young adult slowworm in such pristine condition. I got a couple of shots off before it hid under a pot. It was so good to see it. We had found a baby slowworm in one of the compost heaps a couple of days ago so I checked around and found one under a tin lid we’d put down for them. I managed to get one good shot before it disappeared into a crevice. Last year we’d had 2-3 babies, several juveniles and a couple of adults. A little later the young adult reappeared and allowed me to get quite close with the camera. (Aren’t pull out swivel view screens wonderful) Gofer also found another baby in a compost bin so that makes 2 we think. Slow worms give birth to live young.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.