Combi31

By Combi31

Lizard and fly

I had a close encounter with a huge snake today.
I was about to sit down on a grassy knoll in the forest (there were no FBI nor CIA around) when I saw some movement in the grass - I thought it was a lizard, as in the photo and ignored it.
Then I saw the snake's head peeking out, looking straight at me - I poked it with my monopod and made some noise and it slithered off, only to come back again 5 minutes later, looking straight at me, risen up like it was about to strike.
Now I know this because I have watched Tarzan before and it's a dead giveaway.
I poked it again, it came past me, risen up, it's head must have been 50 cm off the ground and it was clear that it was doing this to check me out, I then hit the ground with my monopod and it stopped and turned, just staring at me, before slinking off.
I managed to get a last minute shot as it slithered off - you can see the head on the left.

So after that I got this shot of a lizard, which had caught a fly.

I later saw a snake eagle flying high above - I didn't let on ...

I also heard a couple of cuckoos, which was nice.

I hope your Monday is a good one - tsk, April already ... where did all that go?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.