0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“It's been quiet, month end, people out of pocket.”


First, some words on the fantastic blipmeet organised by MrJohn yesterday. (thank you J). There were a good number of blippers out, namely MrJohn, Earthdreamer, Lawrie and Meltingman, plus a couple of non-blipper togs (John and Riaz) from Bradford.

You can read MrJohn’s journal for a description of the night, I just wanted to add some words about the documentary we went to see as part of the Bradford Film Festival.

The film, entitled ‘Everybody Street’ turned out to be a double-bill, preceded by a short documentary called ‘FLO’ which followed street photographer Flo Fox in the vibrant streets of NYC. The opening words of the documentary really made an impression on me:

“Went out with my first pay cheque and bought a camera, I was age 26. Carried it with me everyday, forty years it’ll be in a few months. Everyday, wherever I’ve gone, on the street, or in bed with someone, I’ve covered everything with my camera. Being born with one eye was perfect for photography, you never had to close an eye to take a photograph, you never had to change the 3D to a flat plain…”

The main feature, Everybody Street, gave an insight into thirteen street photographers from NYC, covering nine decades. The most notable for me were: Bruce Gilden who basically shoves a camera and flash in people’s faces (but produces fantastically unique film-noir type shots); Serbian-born photographer Boogie, who’s work on gangs and drug addicts is both powerful and tragic, and finally Jamel Shabazz who's philosophy on ‘asking’ people for portraits mirrors my attitude on street photography, and he makes some good observations which I couldn’t have said better:

"When I approach a person, I feel a certain way. If I don’t feel that way, I’m not going to approach that individual. “I see something in you”—I want the person to know that. Often that person will ask, “What do you want my picture for?” So I already know that that question is going to come, and I say, “I sincerely see greatness in you. I see something special about you.” I may not always say “greatness.” I might just say, “I see something special about you. I don’t quite know what it is, but there is something special about you, and I want to capture it.”

On that note, here is Greg, a manager at the retro clothing store: Pop Boutique. I liked his style, in particular the hat. In fact, I plan to go and ask him where he got it, or ask for his...

Some shots from the bipmeet can be found here.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.