Time....

...to say goodbye.

I stopped on my way to work to blip this flower display that's actually a working clock. I noticed it when I was on the bus and kept meaning to stop and take a photo, and it seemed appropriate today.

It was pay day, so I checked my bank account and waited until I'd received my payslip before going to give them my notice. As we don't get sick pay, I wanted to check that I hadn't been paid for the days I was off, because if I had I'd have owed them 3 days. Fortunately, they'd already deducted the time, and I was just paid for the hours I'd worked, so I went to see Jack the Office Manager and told him that I was leaving. He asked why and when, and was a little surprised that I said I was going today, but he confirmed that as I'd worked there less than a month, I didn't actually have to give them any notice. They have a very high turnover of staff and apparently there have been people that have just walked out before now, so he thanked me for telling him.

Once that was sorted I told my colleagues, and we arranged to go to the pub for a drink at lunch time. They all seemed pleased for me but were also envious that I'd managed to escape, it really is strange place! I'm fortunate to have met some nice people though, and hopefully we'll keep in touch.

Tonight on my way home I went to the Osteopath seeing as I couldn't go on Saturday. I've only got 3 more sessions left with her, but I now have my hospital appointment through for physio which is quite good timing. I've got 3 weeks off now before I start my new job, so I'll get those booked in while I can. I've also had it confirmed that I'll be staying in Surrey for two weeks while I do my initial training, but I'll be allowed home at the weekends :-)

Anyway, it was a good start to my week - hope you've had a good one too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.