My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

The obligatory knackered shot - Maratona di Roma

3 hours 10 minutes...given the torrential rain at times I'm pretty damn chuffed with that.

It's not many marathons that you get a medal designed by an art student and then get to pose in front of the Colosseum...actually I assume it's only the one.
It was a nice course this one, and pretty flat too, although because I hadn't really researched the route properly, I missed some of the sights and then stumbled across others that I wasn't expecting. That being the Vatican suddenly appearing around a corner just after Castel Sant'Angelo where I thought I wonder if that's the castle thing from Angels & Demons -highly cultured me.

I actually seemed to get my pacing right for this one and was gaining places all the way through to the end and actually finished 642nd. The weather could have been better but you can't have it all I suppose.

So this was day 2 and Colosseo visit 2 before a wander through the streets of Rome with Dad like proper tourists -Triton fountain, Trevi fountain, Pantheon, Bernini's Elephant, Palazzo Navona, gelato, coffes, and several churches.
Then it was pizza with live acoustic jazz...I could get used to this!


...it was just missing Laura...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.