Ho Hum(bug)

We had planned to get our Christmas tree today, but we woke up to 3 inches/7 cm of snow (usually a mere dusting, but it was the first significant snow fall this year), and we ended up playing in the snow for much of the afternoon. Then, truth be told, I took a nap and we lost our chance to pick out a tree during the daylight.

Later in the afternoon, we went to the tree-lighting in a nearby town. We saw Santa, Frosty, and of course the Grinch. I didn't hear the conversation my daughter and her friend were having with the Grinch, but my daughter later said to me, "The Grinch said he was going to come to our houses and take our Christmas trees!"

"He did??" I asked in mock shock.

"Yes! I told him we're lucky we don't have ours up yet!" my daughter giggled.

"Oh, yes," I said, feeling let off the hook about the Christmas tree. "What a mean Grinch to say he was going to come steal our tree!"

"We don't have a tree to steal! Mom, you know it really wasn't the Grinch. It was a girl in a costume!"

"Really!?" I asked, feigning disbelief.

"Yes, Mom," and I could practically hear her four-year-old-going-on-fourteen-year-old eyes rolling in their sockets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.