Alastair Cook

By AlastairCook

iPhone Portrait 306

James Watt, fine artist, Largs.

James is an incredible painter. He stood painting at the derelict docks of Greenock through the 1980s capturing social history, great big unfashionable oils of ships, cranes and the real onset of industrial desolation. His time came and they are worth their weight in actual gold as well as rightfully understood to represent the decline of Scotland as an industrial nation.

I was lucky enough to spend some time with him as part of our Absent Voices exhibition; he was very complimentary about the painterly double exposure photographs I've been working on. I was so pleased to be told by a painter my photographs were beautiful!

I found out later (because I'm a bear of little brain) that he is painter Alison Watt's father. Yes, that Alison Watt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.