Inverculain

By Inverculain

Eternal Flame

I saw this last night, when walking back from dinner, but I'd already posted my blip for the day and thought I wouldn't get the chance to snap it today.

But...I had to be up for a call at 6am, and much to my surprise I woke half an hour before the alarm went off - so I grabbed the camera and dashed down to get a picture!

This is the Shrine of Remembrance in Brisbane's ANZAC Square. Australia takes the commemoration of World War I very seriously; memorials like this are immaculately maintained, and I find them very moving. This one is beautifully lit, almost as if the eternal flame was illuminating the pillars, and I tried to capture that when I photographed it just before dawn.

Busy day in Brisbane, but I got done slightly earlier than I expected and was able to catch a plane that got me to Sydney at 9pm instead of 10.30. Tomorrow will be hectic too, but let's see what I can find that's blippable...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.