Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Princes Street Attractions.

Went into Edinburgh this afternoon. By the time I arrived the sun was behind the clouds and the light was flat. Took a lot of really c**p photos but eventually settled for this one.

I guess I'm a bit of a kill joy at this time of year - but I really do wonder if this was what the city fathers had in mind when Alexander Nasmyth painted this in 1825. Somehow it all seems rather odd when placed in front of the older buildings.

Worse still the whirling lights of the fairground attractions were accompanied, not only by the usual smattering of Christmas songs, but also by several rather cheesy renditions of "Scottish favourites". No doubt to appeal both to the tourists as well as the home grown crowd of party goers who want to revel in their national "traditions".

Me? I'm going to slink back into my cave until it's all over.

Would love to know who left the gloves that were so conveniently placed on the ground in front of me though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.