Beautiful!!

Last year (on May 1st) I blipped a photograph of the snakes head fritillaries growing round the car park at my local Leechpool woods, well today almost a month earlier than last year they are in full bloom, and I am pleased to say this year, despite the awful wet winter there are loads more blooms on show.
Mostly they were the normal deep red colour, with the occasional white one thrown in for variety, but on it's own in a sunny little spot was this absolutely stunner! I don't know if is just a pale variety, or a mix between the dark and white varieties, but I really think it is beautiful, with the checkerboard patten showing so well, I just had to blip it for you!!
While I was at the forest I released my two male Emperor moths, who much to my delight fluttered off , flying really high in the air - hopefully they will find a mate! I will let my girlies go tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.