Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Racy literature

This publication on our department's Information Officer's desk caught my eye on account of its look of post-war official publication. From 1961 (before even I was born!), it was actually published by the FBI (yeah, that caught my eye too) but, in this case, that's the Federation of British Industries, a predecessor to today's Confederation of British Industries. And the topic? Well, maybe not racy but certainly important. Remember that this was only a few years after the Great Smogs of the mid 1950s which killed over 4000 people in London. Creating better dispersal conditions for industrial emissions to the atmosphere was recognised as part of the solution and, so, taller and better designed chimneys were the order of the day. I do love that look though, so much of its time and so far removed from our modern ideal for eye-catching publications. Still, it caught my eye!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.