Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

When you're hot, you're hot!

Not a very good picture, I'm afraid - after a busy day it was very gloomy as I left the office to walk up to the house and my little Blip Canon isn't good in low light and the flash has over-exposed the flowers. OK, enough excuses!

This shrub is Drimys lanceolata, from Tasmania and SE Australia. Useful as shelter in milder places, I'm almost ashamed to say that I've used the leaves of this plant on occasions to trick innocent interviewees or pompous know-alls! Give them a chance to chew a leaf and the latter category will munch happily away and ask casually what the problem is. A minute later they're gasping for water and steam is coming out of their ears! Fair enough, it is rather cruel thing to do - it's not called Mountain Pepper for nothing!

As for my mystery Blip from two days ago, I won't tell you what it is, but later on I'll take another picture which might spill the beans. And no, it's not a bean!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.