Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

A dreich day

Today was dreich in more ways than one. Our long anticipated weekend in Grassington is off. Hubby succumbed this morning to the gastric flu bug that's going its rounds, so a trip in the car was a total no-no. We are really disappointed as it's been in the diary for a long time, and my brother and sister-in-law were so keen to share their special place with us. I hope there will be another time.

This shot is of the war memorial at Hatton of Fintray which is perched on an "island" in the middle of a ploughed park, yet the good folk there have still managed to lay their poppy wreaths at the foot of the monument. I pass it regularly when I take the cross country route home from Aberdeen. Today it and the bare trees and the mist captured my mood. To quote my good friend marchmont, a murky day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.