Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Eric, the guide

A day working for the Gloucester paper today, a bit of dash to get around the jobs, but its a pleasure of the job to meet so many different people.
One pic on my list was at Gloucester Cathedral, photographing some recently installed stained glass windows. To get scale and perspective, I needed someone in the photo, and Eric, a cathedral guide, caught my eye as the perfect model.
So smartly turned out, so obviously pleased to be a guide, and fortunately happy to pose by the windows. He told me he had been a guide at the cathedral for 21 years, since taking early retirement from "the electricity board". He looked fit as a fiddle, so I said he must have retired at 40. "No, 60!" he told me, amused. Gosh, he was doing well for his age.
His volunteering at the cathedral had clearly kept Eric sharp of mind and usefully fit (not fast, but fit...).
I just had to shoot a portrait of him for my blip.

NB,I've fallen out of my (almost) daily blip routine of late, partly because some days offer no chance to find or shoot a blip, sometimes due to shooting a pic then not getting round to uploading it. It's been nearly a year since I changed my whole life, utterly changing my day to day routines (and I do like a routine I've been told...), and blipping has been left to one side too many days. Can I make a new year resolution this far into the year...?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.