Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Smell the Roses

I must work harder at this. It is very tempting to let stress and worries and unfulfilled wishes and wants take over. To let what if overshadow the nicer parts of what is. So I took an extra couple of minutes to stroll through the florist section of my grocery store when picking up a prescription, and pulled out my camera to find the right blooms with which to mark the thought.

Yellow roses are my favourites. They were in my bridal bouquet, which was modelled after my mother's. They will remind me always of her. As will lilacs.

Today I got to enjoy lunch with a special mentor and friend of mine. Peter was first to really nurture my love of the law and he gave my career a wonderful head start. I have now known him over half my life. We always have wonderful, far-ranging conversations and I come back feeling a bit more invigorated about my chosen field whatever struggles may be in my path.

Inhale deeply. Hold it. Savour it. And exhale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.