Dear Grandma

E-mails have their place, but handwritten letters are simply the best. Nothing beats the satisfying plop of an envelope bearing your name and address written in ink falling on the mat, and the delight of opening it to find a letter from someone with a bit more time to spend communicating with you.

I have been lucky twice this week with letters from my two youngest granddaughters thanking me for small gifts.

This letter arrived yesterday from 5 year old Nina, and whilst I appreciate the sentiments and the wonderfully neat handwriting, I can't help noticing the stamp on the envelope appears not to have been franked. A saucer of hot water beckons.
Old habits die hard and the war time spirit of waste not want not was embedded into my psyche from an early age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.