River City

Popped into the Riverside Museum today after my appointment with the physio to try and get my knee sorted out. Although in reality I didn't actually go into the museum, which houses Glasgow's transport collection.

My intention when I stopped was to take pictures of the museum and the Glenlee tall ship and use one of them as today's blip. However I also took some shots of the River Clyde as well and when I looked at them I decided to go with this shot of the river as I liked the rather sombre atmosphere of the picture.

This picture was taken from just in front of the Riverside Museum looking down the river towards the west. On the right just heading out of shot is the River Kelvin where it joins the Clyde and the flats in the distance on the right bank are part of the Glasgow Harbour development. On the left bank is Govan.

The riverside is a mix of dereliction and new build. The closer you are to the city centre the more new build and the less dereliction, but you don't have to go far to see the empty spaces that still lie on the riverside where the heavy industry used to be.

It certainly used to be said that the Clyde made Glasgow, but nowadays it isn't really used as the asset it surely is. Near the city centre straddling the river there are TV studios for the BBC and STV, some hotels, the new Hydro concert venue, the Scottish Exhibition and Concert Centre, the Armadillo, some blocks of new 'luxury' flats etc, but a little further down the river there are still many empty spaces waiting to be re-developed.

One of the bits that has been re-developed recently is this bit where they have built the new Riverside Museum to hold the contents that came from the transport museum. I often visited the old transport museum, but for some reason have not yet been to the new Riverside Museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.