Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Photo op

I grabbed the camera and headed for town to do some candid street shots. I was keen to try real honest-to-goodness from-the-hip shots, so fixed the manual focus point at about 3m and selected f8. From then on I trusted to luck, and took all the shots without using the view finder or the LCD screen.

The results weren't too bad, and I got more useable shots than I expected. In most cases all I did in the computer was correct verticals and do some cropping. There's a selection over at Flickr if you care to take a look. This shot was the undoubted pick of the day's photo experiment. I was on my way back to my car, passing the James Joyce statue in North Earl Street. These girls were in great high spirits, doing the obligatory photo-taking which so many visitors do at this spot. It was very much a click-and-hope situation, since they were rather hyperactive, and I didn't know until I got home if I'd got anything useable.

--------------

After my blip session I went over to Rathgar to visit Susan, my next-door neighbour, whose 80th birthday is tomorrow. I'd got her a card and a wee prezzy in town (which was the excuse for taking the photos), since I won't be able to see her tomorrow. We had a grand old chat (actually, she did most of the talking for the hour and a half I was with her). She continues to improve, and will be let out of the hospital tomorrow for a while to spend some birthday time with he daughter.

Some shopping and soup and a sandwich in Rathgar, and then I came back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.