Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

I had hair!

Just received this from my Uncle Dai. It sent my spine a tingling, as I have absolutely no photographs of this stage of my life, in fact very few of my youth at all. I am guessing I was about 16 or 17 in this image, forty years ago.

I had hair!

History – from the age of 10, I was a member of the 1st Port Sunlight Boys Brigade. Having cornet lessons in school, I rapidly progressed to the front of the bugle ranks, winning the West Cheshire battalion annual bugle competition five years running.

At Boys Brigade annual camp, as orderly bugler, I escaped fatigue duties, such as washing pans and digging latrines. My job was to play all the bugle calls for the day, not so much a job, but an absolute pleasure.

My favourite was playing the Last Post and goodnight calls at ten o’clock at night, when everyone was in their sleeping bags. The air was so still and heavy with moisture. The sweet sound seemed to travel for miles and returned to me, purified by the clean mountain air of the countryside – this was a good time.

A touch of personal nostalgia, hope you don’t mind too much.

Thanks uncle Dai.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.