Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Ellon Registry Office.

Some of the guests were late as they'd gone to the wrong place, the registrar was getting shirty because he had another wedding just after us and he wouldn't wait any longer. Luckily everybody arrived just in time to hear me fluff my words and do the "sololomly swear" thing. Then we went home for the
party.

We didn't want a big do. We wanted family and friends at our home so that we could celebrate in a relaxed informal way. From the corsages to the food we did pretty much everything ourselves.

A few friends resisted where we were going to opt out though. P bought me a wedding corsage. He really was appalled at the idea that I was going to do it without one.

Also, my mum hand-knitted my dress. I reckoned that, even although I hated heels, I had to do her the honour of wearing them after she had put so much work into it. It probably was a mistake though as I felt myself sinking into the wet ground while friends took photos!

Afterwards we headed off to Foveran House in Newburgh for the night. It was only a few miles down the road from the house, but we were the only guests in a massive old house. When we got home the next morning, the dishes had been done and the house was sparkling. Very grateful to R and C for that.

(This is one of the original pictures taken by a friend as we didn't go for a professional photographer. It has been treated with a bit of TLC and all the scratches etc removed. The colours have also been adjusted to improve the quality of the image - 10.12.2009).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.