FloydOnFilm

By FloydOnFilm

They're Off!

That's not the runners in today's Grand National but the 800 runners and walkers in the 25th Allendale Challenge. 26 miles across the fells of the North Pennines in Northumberland, I'm told it covers some of the finest peat bogs in the area. I'm tempted to say "whatever turns you on". The event raises money for the North Of Tyne Mountain Rescue Team.

I am feeling quite smug in that I have already completed my own challenge this morning by getting up early enough to take a photograph of the 8am start!

It is fairly obvious that some are experienced fell walkers and that others may not be as well prepared for what lies ahead. Like the woman in the car that pulled up near the start 10 minutes after the everyone else had gone. Her last minute preparation appeared to be to apply her eye makeup!! Like I said, whatever turns you on!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.