Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Easy Rider

That's what his skateboard sticker claims at any rate...

And so the end of the week hoves into view! It's been a packed few days, as I predicted last weekend, but it's included fun as well as frustrations.

There's lots going on at work and many plates to be kept spinning - sometimes it seems that there's no free space left in my head - but I won't bore you with that! In fact, just thinking about how unimportant my work stresses are in the context of other blippers' lives helps me to put them into context for myself. Which is good.

On the 'fun front', Spokes and I have had a very arty week. On Monday night we saw a terrific production of Arthur Miller's 'A View From the Bridge' at The Playhouse, on Tuesday night we enjoyed a feel-good Canadian film, 'Margarita', at The Light in New Brighton and tonight has been quite a talking point...

As you may recall, Spokes took part in a couple of performances of The Vagina Monologues last month so when we heard that two of her thespian chums were going to be in town performing in a piece of their own devising called The Penis Monologues, we were keen to go along to lend our support!

I'm not sure that either of us were quite sure what to expect but I know we, and others who were there (of ALL genders!) are going to discuss it further and talk to friends about it. It was very different to The Vagina Monologues (and not just in the obvious ways!) but equally thought-provoking, challenging and, in parts, disquieting. I thought it was a brave attempt to talk about a lot of issues that don't often get addressed and Spokes is keen to do some collaborative work with the performers (The Genital Dialogues?!) which will be very interesting if it can be organised!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.