Aussiebackhome

By AussieinOz

Letohrádek Hvězda walk

Today I went on a hike in the large park around Letohrádek Hvězda (Star Summer Palace). Of course the most amazing thing in the park is the palace itself but, unfortunately, today was not the day for me to get a good photo of it. There were delivery vans in front of the palace when we arrived, and the facade facing the avenue was disfigured by nasty advertising banners ... so instead of the planned photo of the palace, I have posted a photo of the park, and a fork in the path.

Which way to go? My walking companion today, a Canadian, will be leaving Prague in a few months ... makes me think of my future and options. Which path to take?

The woods in the park are beautiful and are starting to wear their spring green. Meanwhile the floors are carpeted with tiny white, and occasionally mauve, flowers. Many trails criss-cross the area so it's fairly easy to escape the crowds.

We then went to Břevnov Monastery where we ate lunch - I only had dessert. I found the idea of warm apple strudel irresistible after are 3 hours of walking around taking photos and getting lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.