The Molecatcher

It's been a mostly working day but I took a long cycle in to the office, via Lancashire indeed (through Silsden, Cononley, Lothersdale, Laneshawbridge and then over the tops to Oakworth, Keighley and Bingley) and then a short cycle back over the moor road. That was plenty of exercise for the day. I took quite a few landscape shots en route but I'm finding again that I most want to remember the day by the people that I've met.

I could have chosen James Shackleton whom I met at Oakworth. He cut such a distinctive figure that I was totally compelled to stop and chat and ask for a photograph. He was a very sprightly 83 years of age and a real gentleman. But I've chosen to blip Harry here, just a few years younger than James. I spotted him working in a field at the top of the climb from Addingham Moorside. He's been a hill farmer all his life, just like his father, and probably his father before him. He had some great stories to tell. When he was born he said he was so tiny and frail that the doctor said that he needed to be wrapped in cotton wool. His family worked the highest farm up on Whernside and were advised that they should move somewhere less harsh to give the baby a chance to survive. They did indeed move, but only a couple of miles down the hillside! I guess it was enough!!

Harry asked me if I knew what he was doing in the field. I had no idea. It turned out that he was catching moles. He then went back to his quad bike, retrieved the dead animals and proudly showed them off to me. He insisted I take a picture. I decided that I wouldn't inflict that shot on you! I could have done without that moment but it was still a privilege to meet him and hear his stories. This portrait project of mine is providing me the opportunity to meet some genuinely lovely and interesting people. It's continues to be a revelation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.