Before the triathlon started

This morning I woke a little later than I had expected, but an hour "earlier" as our clocks went back overnight with the ending of Daylight Saving Time. Accordingly, I had a quick transition time from bed to out the door on a run to the waterfront for another Sunday Sunrise.

I chose the waterfront, as I expected to be able to get a good view of the rising sun from the end of Queen's Wharf. On Queen's Wharf is a building nicknamed The Cloud. It was built for the Rugby World Cup in 2011, in order to be "Party Central", where fans could congregate, drink and be merry before walking or taking the train to Eden Park. It was at the time regarded as a temporary building.

Since then, The Cloud (so called because of the shape of the roof) has functioned as a meeting place and has been involved in processes for a number of other sporting events. Today, it was the headquarters for the Triathlon races which began from beside Queens Wharf from 0700 onwards. The elite races (part of the World Series) were to start after 1200 noon. I had no idea that this was happening, and that access to Queen's Wharf was going to be difficult.

I was helped by being in running gear, so that I looked not totally out of place, although the competitors were almost all in wetsuits. Fortunately I was allowed on and managed to make my way past the competitors and their supporters and all the officials almost to the end of the wharf in time to get this photo of the sun just beginning to show above the horizon.

One photo of the sky on the way down Symonds Street showed more dramatic colours. My subsequent photos from the wharf didn't please me. I considered hanging around for the 15 minutes until the first age group race began, hoping for a shot over the competitors towards the recently risen sun. I decided that as I had left S an estimated time of return that I would then not make by a rather substantial time, I wouldn't especially as it was probable that the sun would just dazzle the camera.

So no evidence of triathletes. Even so, I quite like seeing this large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.