From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Galloping to victory! (well, second anyway)..

Stupidly, rather than going up to bed at a sensible time on Friday, I ended up nodding off on the settee and didn't make it up to bed at 2am Saturday morning. I HATE THAT! As a result of that, I had a stiff neck and was quite grumpy for most of Saturday. I soon brightened up though despite the dreary grey day.

I'd forgotten all about the Grand National until I was in Stratford and decided this would be a year I would save a fiver and not back any three legged efforts which is my usual thing. Indeed, my last year choice was still running until earlier this week when he was removed from the racecourse and is now complaining of the cold in the freezer section of a well known supermarket somewhere.... Sorry that remark was in rather poor taste.

The Garrick was really busy and there was only standing room in the back room but I was served quickly by Lynette and had my Abbott Ale, portion of chips (with ketchup!) and also was bamboozled into a go on the sweepstake for - you've guessed it - a fiver! At least I'd heard of Balthazar King but thought no more of it until I met Frank and his eldest son Pete who was visiting for the weekend in The Windmill up the road. Talk about lucky! A great table opposite the telly was just being cleared up by staff so I pounced! Frank and Pete arrived a minute later and we settled down for an afternoon of chat and laughter as well as the usual camera discussion.

Lots of people crowded in to watch the Grand National when it was on. Out of 40 horses, only 18 finished but apparently there were no fatalities this year. Amazingly, Balthazar King (my Garrick Inn sweepstake horse) came second! £50! Well that was better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick! I will try not to let this success go to my head.

Nothing else to report. It wasn't a great day for picture taking so I stopped at the Navigation at Wootton on the way back and just literally took this canal shot sat on the floor before carrying on back to Brum for an Indian takeaway!

There endeth Saturday.

Track? This is my favourite horsey track from Christie Moore - Ride On

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.