Christiana Helen Perry

By ChristianaPerry

International Pillow Fight 2014

Once a year, for the past 7 years, flash mobs have congregated for simultaneous pillow fights around the world. As I headed down to London I heard the announcement from Boris' office that Trafalgar Square was cordoned off for scheduled cleaning and the pillow fight could therefore not take place. I was sceptical this would put anyone off so continued on my way. I understand last year's clean up cost 2k but compared to the price of the olympics I'm sure it's a steal.

I turn to look behind me on the escalator out of the station, to see a man in his nightwear, white boxers and t-shirt, looking like an advert for getting your whites, white. Megaphone in hand and a bucket load of confidence he tells me to follow him and that the fight will go ahead. It seems I lucked out as he appeared to be the spokesperson for the event and continued to rally the troops once we got to Trafalgar Square.

Perhaps unwisely I decided to stand in the thick of things to capture the moment of joy one gets from legitimately whacking a stranger with a feather pillow. The exhilaration on the faces of the young and old made for great photographs and there were a lot of comedy characters who enjoyed the performance aspect of the spectacle.

I left with a headache, but camera intact and a smile on my face, head to toe in feathers.

More photos from the fight can be found on my blog

www.helenperryphotography.wordpress.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.