Racing Together.

So today I was supposed to be running the Baildon Boundary Way Race - somewhere I needed to return to having broken my ankle last time, (nothing major I completed the last 11miles after the injury, developing a bit of a limp).
Anyway same ankle started playing up mid week, and I'd double booked myself this morning, so hearing I was wondering about not racing Benji announced he'd like to take my place. So number switched, off he went with his mum.
With nothing more than 2-3 miles run at at time and probably no more than 4 or 5 runs in the last year, he didn't seemed phased by a hilly off road half marathon (what it is to be young and foolish) his only goal was to finish and beat his mum round, he managed both.....just.
He's now high as a kite from the neck up and hobbling like an old man from the waist down.
Having not engaged at all really with sporty things growing up and as he grows into himself I'm pleased to see that walking the hills and running are things that seem worthwhile uses of time.
I remember reading somewhere that your mothers attitude and participation in exercise is one of the most powerful influences on their children's participation in sport as they become adults, so fitting after his first proper race to have him photo'd with his mum.
I give you Linda and Benji Racing Together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.