Looking Up

Five to six inches (13-15 cm) of heavy wet snow. Poorly plowed roads. Fallen tree. I stopped. The woman behind me didn't.

Nothing like starting your morning by being extricated (<-- the fire department's word; not mine) from your car. Because I'd mentioned head and neck pain, I was strapped to a backboard and spent much of the morning supine while I experienced a montage of views looking up -- the stormy clouds that were still dumping snow, the ceiling of the ambulance, the ceiling of the ER hallways and treatment rooms, and the x-ray machine hanging down from the ceiling of the x-ray room.

Fortunately, nothing at all was wrong with my daughter. My neck wasn't broken (but we were all pretty sure of that from the get go, as I was able to get out of the car and see that my bumper had just a few scratches while the other driver's whole front end crumpled).

I was sent home with some muscle relaxers and spent the the rest of the day looking up at the ceiling of my bedroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.