Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Castle Coch

After our friend, Julia, who stayed the night went home, my wife offered to make some home made pasties. I presume she wanted a couple of hours on her own and said "why don't you go and take some photo's?"

I couldn't turn that down and set off late afternoon and decided on Castle Coch as I haven't been there for a few months. It holds memories for me as my grandfather used to take me there over 50 years ago, and I got married there on 11 June 1999. The reception was in a fish and chip shop!

I forgot, but Wikipedia have one of my photo's of the castle on their site.

A brief history:

Castell Coch (English: Red Castle) is a 19th-century Gothic Revival castle built on the remains of a genuine 13th-century fortification. It is situated on a steep hillside high above the village of Tongwynlais, to the north of Cardiff in Wales, and is a Grade I listed building as from 28 January 1963.

Designed by William Burges, with an impressively medieval appearance, working portcullis and drawbridge, and sumptuous interiors which rival those of Cardiff Castle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.