Christmas monster

I have this absolutely wonderful client. I've been working for him for the past fifteen years or so. Our relationship began with a logo design for an investment trust that I did just before taking early retirement. We've maintained the relationship right through all the years since, and he's been wonderfully faithful during this past year, refusing to turn elsewhere while I was hit my my medical problems.

We've gradually got back together over the past few weeks, and now things have come to a bit of a head, with all sorts of work needing to be done on a fairly urgent basis. I didn't sleep all that well last night, so was downstairs at the pooter in the early hours and didn't get back to bed until 9.00 am. When I re-surfaced in mid-afternoon I did some more work in response to the client's reactions, and then suddenly it was time to go out and enjoy myself. One of the guys from the Music Group was throwing a Christmas party, and there's no way I wasn't going to be there. I combined getting to the party with my need for a daily walk, so used public transport to get to his place.

I set out empty-handed, so had to stop off at an off-licence on the way. I had a vague memory from the last time being there for a party that there was an off-locence nearby, but memory proved to be defective tonight. At least I was forced to walk up and down several times trying to find the elusive offie, so I guess I got in a reasonable part of the daily walk I'm supposed to do. The invite for the party had gone out later than usual, as a result of which there were fewer people there than in previous years, and I'd have to say that it was all a bit low-key.

My camera didn't feel the urge to whip itself out of its case during the actual party, so it's just as well that I blpped this rather strange figure which was part of a Christmas display in a ship window I assed while searching for somewhere to buy a bottle of wine. To my eternal shame I ended up having to resort to Spar to get the wine in. At least I managed to get a bottle of New Zealand Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, but I don't think what I got would be considered all that good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.