Life Savors

By osuzanna

MonoMonday-Looking for Wood in a Concrete Jungle

When I first heard the mono-Monday challenge was "wood," I knew exactly what I would photograph. My father did a number of wood carving -sculptures that would be perfect. I completely forgot that I would be in NYC on this day and would not get home until after midnight.

We are in NYC because our youngest son was sworn into the New York State Bar this morning at the Supreme Court. It was a very proud moment. The court room where this ceremony took place was magnificent, with beautiful carved wood panelling. Unfortunately, no photography was allowed. While my husband and sons went off to Yankee Stadium for opening day of the baseball season, I headed off to the Museum of Modern Art to see the "Gauguin: Metamorphoses" exhibit, which included many wood sculptures, woodcuts and wood reliefs. Unfortunately, no photography was allowed, again, so I am unable share any of this.

So, this photo of the wood stairs was taken from the top floor of the museum, across a multistoried atrium and is my contribution to this challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.