Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Callum with Doughnut

In the few minutes I was home on Saturday in between morning, afternoon and evening coverage, Callum and I had a walk out. Four years ago, I would typically enjoy backlighting in my portraits, though for the years since, I've really had a preference for front lit portraiture in open shade, feeling their closeness to the essence of what I wish to convey in portraiture: the emotion through the eyes. The yellow ice plants in the vacant lot on our street are back in bloom and beckoned us. And this time, it just called for the magic of backlighting, here, Callum accompanied by the first soft toy that he's ever bonded with, let alone bestowed a name upon: Doughnut.

Some sneak peeks from the 3000 frames I captured on Saturday. I do love these 15!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.