fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Sawing Wood!

My entry for Mono:Monday:Wood!

I grew up in a family of arborists---people who really do a whole lot more than saw down trees:) My younger brother now runs the tree business that my Grandfather began all on his own in 1910 in Cleveland Ohio---called the Forest City. His tree company took that name on to--Forest City Tree Protection Company. My brother says he sees himself, a certified arborist , as more of a tree doctor or surgeon. He examines and often helps heal diseased tress....like the American Elm tree that is hardly around anymore.

Consequently I grew up with a love for trees....my father taught me how to identify them by their bark for a 7th grade science project I had to do...I still have an old brownie star camera photo of me and a camera by some bare tree trunks. Most of my childhood vacations were planned all around the annual tree conferences my Dad took part in. My mom and us four kids would be camped near the where the conference was held. Probably NOT so much fun for her....but we always loved that. And we loved going to the demonstration of new equipment day called the field demo day because we collected any and all free stuff the various companies participating were handing out. Probably lots more junk for my mom to toss later:)

Thank you to TywynSue for hosting this!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.