sarahpyt

By sarahtracy

Best Friend

Today I had lunch with my best friend. She hid her face from me when I tried to take a picture.

About a month ago, I was watching a video created by Dove. The video showed women running away from the camera, afraid of having their picture taken. The big question was, "When did we stop believing we were beautiful?" After that, there is footage of little girls who are not camera shy, but rather embrace having their pictures taken.

The video was absolutely thought provoking. We as women are shaped by society's standard of beauty that we forget the real beauty of real women. Instead of hiding from the camera, we should embrace it, and be happy to capture the moment. When did we stop believing we were beautiful?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.