Transitoire

By Transitoire

Mathieu

So, yesterday I saw Mathieu, and didn't take a photograph of him. Today I spent most of the day with Thomas, and didn't take a photograph of him. So here is Mathieu, a day late I guess!

So Thomas and I had a lazy morning, watched 'Saving Mr Banks'...a very good film and well worth a watch. The only problem is that we then wanted to watch 'Mary Poppins' straightaway!

In the afternoon we headed to Emmaüs to have a look round to see if there were any bargains. Thomas has decided that he wants to start rollerblading and, as if by magic, there were roller blades in his size...how good is that?! Emmaüs is the equivalent of a charity shop, but huge, for anyone who is unsure what it is! We also found some rather interesting items, including a book entitled Le Karma Sutra des chats...imagine the normal Karma Sutra, but with cartoon cats showing the positions. France is weird. We then met up with Flavie and all headed to Decathlon to get Thomas a helmet and knee pads. We also ended up going into the tents, trying the sports equipment, and the skateboards. Such children!

In the evening Thomas and I headed to the Café Polyglotte, the language cafe, hence the photograph of Mathieu. It was decided between the two of them that I should go over to the French speaking table and try and convince them that I was French. As majority Erasmus students on the table...it is not as hard as it sounds. Anyhows, I went over and started speaking French with everyone. When they asked where I came from, I couldn't lie to them (much as I tried!) so I said that I was English. Imagine my surprise when they called me a liar and told me to not take the piss!! I then asked Mathieu to back me up and say where I was from, and he replied with La France. Cheers Mathieu! The only way I convinced them was to speak in English. I guess it is a good thing. But then when I went over to the English speaking table, as there were no native speakers there, and everyone was chatting in French...so I started speaking in French, and then switched to English. Again, the first thing I was asked was where I came from...and when I asked them to guess, I thought that it would have been obvious. But when two French people guess you're from France, I guess you're doing something right!

After Café Polyglotte, Thomas and I headed back to chez coloc' to watch a documentary on WW1. The first time the films have been seen in technicolour...and very interesting. Although I was confused for the first half an hour as to who François-Ferdinand was (Franz-Ferdinand...I should have guessed!). The coloured film made the whole thing much more real. I wish I was here next week for the next few episodes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.