weewilkie

By weewilkie

a pure beamer

Went for a wee jaunt down to Gourock today. Intermittent sun, chilly; but a bracing day for a good walk. I took lots of photos, and had at least five different blips in mind. It's an interesting dilemma. I start to get a feel for what my waffle is going to be for each blip. They are all different, some more coherent than others. The danger, for me, is choosing a less interesting image just because I think I've got something good to say about it.
So, to the streetlight on at midday. I don't feel I've a great deal to say about it, but I kept coming back to it as the most striking image of the day. It had no purpose being on. Something seemed wrong. Michael Ondaatje had (yet another) fantastic turn of phrase when he talked of himself being as " fragile/ as neon/ in the morning light". It's an image that really stuck in my head.
When I look at the picture and the gathering gloom, I get a notion that the streetlight senses something sinister approaching from behind. It daren't turn around, instead it just stands there with a pure beamer. The blue of the sky is gradually being consumed by dark clouds and the darker it gets the more exposed the streetlight will be for being on when it shouldn't be! Caught rotten! Or not...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.