Doingok

By Doingok

Cemetery Hill

I thought the view from the top of Cemetery Road might be interesting looking off to the mountains with the fog in the valley, but the fog was so thick nothing was visible, so I headed into the cemetery. This is New Boston's town cemetery and has been for about 250 years. There was a cacophony of sound coming from a group (large) of Robins. They are here all winter so not sure what the fuss was. Just that time of year I guess.

Looking at the Historical Society's website, there were many interesting tidbits about the older stones. The oldest stones (1750ish) are slate and then marble became popular, but marble didn't hold up well to the elements and now of course they are granite. I did see a metal one (note to self for next Mono Monday). Some tidbits I thought I'd share:

"As the ground level subsides, Janet Dickey's 1811 gravestone now reveals its $9.42 price tag." Imagine that the price was carved into the stone??

"SEVILLA, daughter of George and Sarah JONES.
Murdered by HENRY N. SARGENT, January 13, 1854.
[At the age of] 17 years and 9 months.
Thus fell this lovely blooming daughter
By the revengeful hand - a malicious Henry
When on her way to school he met her
And with a six self-cocked pistol shot her."

Check it in LARGE I did catch one of those shy robins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.