TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Preparing my palette

Was it Courbet who said: “Put me and my easel anywhere and I will paint”?. Perhaps it was another famous painter. Van Gogh would have expressed the same passion. If you can’t find the right vista, corner, site or perspective, paint your shoes. That’s the genius. But we, the home made amateur sketch makers should stay in the mode of modesty. For me that means that I have been on the look out for good feeling spots. A kind of a unnoticed corner from where the world, or just a small but attractive scene, unfolds itself to your loving eyes.

Walking and making photos has intensified this kind of searching the muses in the woods, alongside a river, following the skies, clouds, beams and spots of light, more than the road shields. In the meantime - since we found our heavenly home here at the confluence of the Weser- and the Diemel-river - I have only made some quick sketches and ink drawings, yet still no painting. But be it that bloody nose of mine or not - when I came out of that death scaring nightmare and stood again outside our front door, with blinking eyes, shaky and dizzy, one thought came up: “where is that easel?”

And I found it back. And there is my old palette. And my acryllic and oilpainting tubes, the brushes. And so many more tools and things we brought here. It is now or never more. The prepairing work is done. You can see my study of today: all the different greens, yellow-greens, cremser white, the touches of orange and red, the whites and greys of the town houses.Just to mention a few details. But the main thing will be, to enter into that Courbet feeling, to open up for the vast spaces, the winds that come in from the east or a rain cloud drifting through. And let it happen into a symphony, celebrating the miracles of a beautiful life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.