Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

100 Happy Days: #18

The 100 happy days tour continues with the story of 8.5 hours of my Friday afternoon and evening.

8.5 hours... You can do a lot with 8 and a bit hours... A full day at work? Write a short story? Write several short stories for that matter. Drive the 4 hour trip from Southend to Manchester?


You'd think so wouldn't you, but to be honest, that last one is a bit tight, especially on a Friday, and especially this afternoon on the M11, and the A14, and just about very other bloody road I went on! Traffic jams, accidents, roadworks - the British road network threw it all at me!

But, it was all made better by this very shaken view over the rolling hills of the the Peak District. I'd been on the road so long, the sun was setting, but there was enough daylight left to see the open rolling pillowy green landscape that I'd forgotten I love so much.

Oh year - and the reason for this little trip? A stag weekend.....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.