DancingAly

By DancingAly

Latin

Day Two and we're onto Latin. It finished about 10pm last night, so I shared a cab ride with some friends back to the hotel. We dropped them off, and then went on to my hotel, which was a 10 minute drive away from the centre of Blackpool, in Lytham. Unfortunately, despite it only being 12 quid to do the same distance at lunchtime, the driver had his "let's take advantage of the tourists" tariff on, meaning I managed to have a whacking great bill of £23!!!! Seriously pissed off, I asked him why it was so high. All he could do was mumble something about different councils and going over the border. Whatever.

It was too late for dinner when I got back, so just had a quick drink at the bar and then went up to get ready for bed. I slept really well here, the beds are so comfy. I really had to pysch myself up for today, as Ballroom wasn't as good as I hoped for yesterday. After breakfast I put some music on my phone and practised my latin routines. My mum gave me a pep talk and told me she'd be cross if I went down without a fight today!

I felt more nervous today, especially when I got to the venue. I sat up on the third floor with some friends as we watched the juniors in their final, which is where I took this picture.

A friend of ours found out she could dance, despite not qualifying earlier in the year. Unfortunately she wasn't there, so I was phoning her repeatedly and trying to get hold of her! When she arrived it wasn't too late, so there were four or five of us all trying to persuade her to just do it! By the time we'd finally coaxed her into a borrowed dress and shoes, it was too late, and they'd had to give the number back.

I was so nervous, but being on that floor feels fantastic. I danced my rumba really well, but then they said we'd also have jive, which is my worst dance! I couldn't believe that in the first round! I was so stricken that I was off time and actually too fast for the music in my state of utter panic! I muddled through, but I felt I'd scuppered my chances there and then. It was funny as people said " I loved your jive"! After waiting around for absolutely ages, I did get a recall and we had Samba and Paso. I loved doing my samba, it's one of my favourite dances, and apart from a minor fluff up in Paso, I couldn't have done any better.

In the end I placed 15th in Latin. I needed 2 more marks for the semi-final, so maybe next year! It finished a little earlier so we came out in daylight, and then caught the tram to my friend's hotel. We ended up driving back to my hotel to have dinner there.

All in all a fab weekend. A little bit sad it's all over for another year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.