just allan

By allan

Uplifted

The J.R. Tolkein travelling down-river at 9pm this evening as scheduled. I was looking forward to this one, travelling up-river at 8.15pm and down again at 9. That gave me time to go to my previous viewing platform for 8.15 and travel east for the next lift. I dashed about, found a great platform east of Tower Bridge on the north bank but it was spoiled by a pier in the view. So with 15 minutes to go I daashed back across the bridge and installed myself on the south bank. Perfect! No other photographers at all, surprisingly enough.

This was a day of many boats for me. Since I'm staying near Canary Wharf Pier this week, I get to enjoy the high speed section between Tower and Canary Wharf ("Passengers are advised the boat will now travel at high speed. Please take your seats.") which is brilliant.

So, right after taking this photo at 21.04 I made it back across the bride for the 21.10 boat home - and we motored at high speed right past the J.R Tolkien! Fantastic :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.