Lightfantastic

By Lightfantastic

Moon and Jupiter but no ISS



Mmnn, 100th blip. I wanted to do something a bit special.
This is a tribute to my dear Papa who died peacefully at home with A at his side on Sunday evening aged 97.
Some of you will remember that I went to visit him in hospital about a month ago when he was seriously ill.
Much to our amazement he rallied for a while and was able to go home with lots of support.

I don’t think we really know what rubs off from the things our parents try to teach us until we ourselves are older , possibly wiser and sometimes trying to get our own children interested in other things.

I remember nature walks when we had to be quiet, not frighten the birds, not play pirates or hide and seak: Also having to turn that blaring noise off so they could listen to the classical third programme and being taken out side to look through Papa’s old navy telescope at a planet or shooting stars. Did I see them I’m not sure but something must have rubbed off. He bought me my first camera when I was 13. I was desperate for one.

So Papa this one is for you. I’d hoped for a really clear sky but clouds were scudding over, quite thick at times and so I did not see the ISS pass close to the moon and of course minutes later but too late the skies cleared. So here is the ½ moon with Jupiter to the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.