EdgewoodGarden

By EdgewoodGarden

Anemone sylvestris

This spring blooming beauty is a little vixen. It is charming, lightly fragrant, and alluring with its fern-like leaves, bewitching spring flowers, and eye-catching seedheads. BUT, it has invaded my rock garden. Mind you, I planted it myself. I should have put it in my clay-soil woodland where it might have been pretty and contained, instead of in the loose soil of my rock garden where it has gone rampant. When descriptions include phrases such as “cast iron,” “naturalizing,” “not-fussy,” “vigorous,” “extreme resilience,” and “deer resistant,” one should be careful where one places such a plant. As they say, Right Plant, Right Place….this will be a long battle as I try to move it to a better location. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.