Saint Paul's in Saint Paul

According to Wikipedia, if Father Lucien Galtier had not established the Log Cabin Chapel of Saint Paul, and insisted that the settlement be known by that name, the city that now flourishes at the confluence of the Mississippi and Minnesota rivers would be know as Pig's Eye, after the local pub. Well perhaps.

We are in Saint Paul so Mr. L can undergo a minor surgical procedure and so having established that all was well, I was free to roam the city for the afternoon. Beautiful day, sunny, puffy white clouds, snow melting in rivulets. Nice to be in a city again! I wandered along to the capital building, architecturally impressive, almost blipped it, but I decided my shots were too ordinary. Then on to the the cathedral - a descendent of that log cabin I mentioned, although not on the original site. The commandeering profile seen in this shot is less interesting up close - the building looked rather solid and concrete. More earthly than heavenly.

I forgot to mention that our hotel has a duck in it. Actually three - wood ducks. As a bird lover, I don't know whether to be pleased or appalled; they are swimming, apparently happily, in an artificial pond in the hotel lobby. The male has his wings clipped (I asked) but the females don't and they occasionally fly around and entertain the guests. Weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.