Scribbler

By scribbler

Eyesores

Art (?) and architecture in the trendy Pearl District, near Whole Foods and Powell's City of Books.

Chantler63 Shakespeare Challenge and National Poetry Writing Month
Words invented by Shakespeare
Day 8: eyesore


All I had to do was walk around the block, and I was greeted by a plethora of eyesores.
As Jimmy Durante used to exclaim, "I got a million of 'em, a million of 'em!"


EYESORES IN PDX

Like the haystacks in a hay field
Or the needles in a pine
Is the frequency of eyesores
In the city I call mine.

Though we own a rep as trendy
And we think ourselves so fine
It’s because we have PR guys
And we’ve swallowed their whole line.

We build buildings that are ugly,
Overpriced, with poor design
And there’s scarce a block not littered
With unregulated sign.

We build 100 sq. ft. units*
O the comfort! so sublime!
You can live there with your Great Dane
And with all your kith and kine.

We choose street art by committee
The result is not benign.
(I could do a whole lot better
If the choice were solely mine.)

Oh, I could go on much longer
But I have to draw the line
For my novel’s still unfinished
And I’d rather not malign.

I admit I’m disinclined
To be further intertwined
And besmirch the streetcar line
In the city I call mine.

*Poetic license. Actually almost 200 sq. ft.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.