NERD!

Well. I am a nerd when it comes to camera equipment. And since I'm not a rich man, I have bought an adapter for my Canon EOS 400, that allows me to mount old analogue lenses that has the M42 screw mount. These lenses can be purchased pretty cheaply at flea markets and vintage stores. I bought an old 50mm Carl Zeiss lens from the old DDR, which is the old East Germany. The focus ring was stuck, and very hard to manoeuvre, so I wanted to disassemble it, to see if I could repair it. It didn't go too well, and I thought I had destroyed it. So I assembled it again, just to fiddle with the parts. I the found out, that I could have simply screwed off the front ring. So I did and I was able to lubricate the inside of the thread, so now it's lovely and smooth. YAY!
The thing is, that now the aperture ring is moving freely, and not in notches, but that's something I can live with, now that I can actually use it.

Afterwards I tested 4 different analogue 50mm lenses. My test winner was my old Cosinon 55mm f/2.1, which I got from my dad, a couple years back. Most probably the cheapest of them all...

I have an idea for a fun photo-project, and I wanted to start my experiments today, but it was very windy and raining, so I've postponed it. I often get ideas. The problem is to actually follow through, so now I announce it, so I can put some pressure on myself to commit to it.

This could be cool in LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.