TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

geranium buds

As the weather today again kept the sky low grey and closed, I turned inside and reorganized my workroom. It really is a miracle to have been given this marvellous room with its view on the Gardian Oaktree. After moving in and building up some eight years ago, I was always short of time to reorganize the vital components in order to find back my instruments of creative activity such as they had grown around me in that big old storage house loft, where I had worked until we left there in 2008.

And indeed it has been a beautiful - in spite of the grey and cold April - day and very rewarding to do this kind of re-searching your self. It facilitates picking up the threads, that were left without further accomplishment. A day full of “trouvailles”, inspirations in ink, gouache or acryllic. In the meantime Willemien was busy trying to paint our “Generalic”-fancy-autumn-tree” - you will see it when it is fashionable - Mischa had to “overcome” the loss of her Hawk-Moth, mysteriously vanished this morning from its new build shelter.

Among the variety of pictures, plates and drawings I happened to find back a special edition of a dutch poem by B. Aafjes in honour of Maria Sibylla Merian. The booklet contains some plates reproducing Merian’s meticulous art of drawing plants and insects. She became famous for her study on the Butterfly Metamorphosis. I had this booklet somewhere on my large old working table, but didn’t know its whereabout after the big removal. Now what is at stake here with the magic of Merian’s Hidden Paradises?

As you may know there is among many of Mischa’s and Admirer’s pictures a striking affinity with the most wonderful little creatures, not only butterflies and moths, bees and other rather “big” insects, but also the very very small creatures, only to be found and seen with a Macro. This and Admirers photo’s of flowers often incited in me that reaction: “Oh, look, but that is Merianite!”

So, in praise for that lovable attention for the almost unseen inhabitants of our Micro Universe, I like to share with you this macro of the geranium buds in our back yard. I too would certainly have overlooked them, hadn’t I found back my Maria Sibylla and the new geraniums in that garden where Mischa and Willemien use to do their meticulous Blipwork. Thankyou all Three.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.