WorldLens

By worldlens

Plums: 399/Kg or a picture for FREE

At 399 baht per kilogram (over $12 US), plums are a pricy snack in Thailand. I took a picture instead of a bite and chose a fresh sliced mango for less than a dollar instead.

Recently a friend asked if I knew what the world's most consumed/popular fruit is. Any guesses?

I guessed bananas. But I was wrong. Any other guesses?

It's actually mangoes. Worldwide, they are consumed ten times more than apples and three times more than bananas. Since moving to Thailand, my mango consumption has rocketed. However, contrary to my assumptions in America, the majority of mangoes eaten in Thailand are enjoyed while the skin is still green and the mango is crunchy. They are usually peeled, sliced, and dipped in a sweet, salty, spicy seasoning. Now that I've tasted them both ways, I actually prefer sweet yet tart unripe mangoes.


I'll be traveling the next couple of days, so I'll be playing backblip catchup on Monday. Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.