Snapdecisions

By HF1

View from Park Walk Shaftesbury

I suddenly realised as I was posting this that it's my 100th blip! It's looking towards Melbury Hill. I had to pop to Shaftesbury for some things ; it always feel strange there as a couple of years ago I discovered, when starting to research family history on my Mum's side, that my Great Grandfather had been born there and worked as a coachbuilder in the town. I discovered that he married a woman from Dorchester and they ended up in Manchester in the late 19th century - not the easiest place to be living then. One of his sons was an oyster opener! When his wife died within a year he had married my Great Grandmother who had worked at a health spa at Matlock in Derbyshire. She also had a daughter. Interestingly my Mum and my Granny as far as I know had no idea of these other relatives as Granny was a child of this second marriage and my Mum, I'm certain had no idea that her Grandfather came from Dorset or had had a first family in Manchester.
If only I could ask them about it now!...............
I was worried about being on the internet today with the cyber attacks - P had a vey stressful time at work yesterday because of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.